

## The European Association of Tax Law Professors and The European Commission

## are proud to confer the

## **European Doctoral Tax Thesis Award**

The European Doctoral Tax Thesis Award is a joint venture of the European Association of Tax Law Professors and the European Commission (Directorate General Taxation and Customs Union).

The prize consists of an invitation by the European Commission to Brussels, where the author shall present the elected thesis to interested EU officials (the Commission reserves the right to invite other persons as well). The invitation includes that the travel expenses and, if necessary, hotel accommodation are borne by the Commission.

Any author fulfilling all of the following may apply:

- submission of a <u>doctoral</u> (PhD) thesis on issues of European and/or International Tax Law (any language of the European Union is eligible)
- submission of a summary of at least 20 pages (in English) which would allow assessment of the main ideas of the thesis
- submission of a table of contents (in English)
- acceptance of the thesis by a European university
- submission of the report of the thesis' evaluator (in English; if available)
- maximum age: 35 years (reference date: time the doctoral degree has been formally awarded)

The full text of the thesis as well as the summary, the table of contents and the evaluator's report should be attached to the application. In total, each application will consist of no more than <u>five pdf-documents</u>: the thesis, the summary, the table of contents, the report of the evaluator, and a cover letter.

A jury will select up to three theses defended within the respective calendar year. The selection process will be done under the supervision of the Academic committee of the EATLP. The actual composition of the jury will be determined on a case-by-case basis.

The doctoral degree has to be formally awarded between 1 January 2021 and 31 December 2021 and the deadline for application for the Award is **<u>30 November 2021</u>** (or 31 December 2021 if the thesis is defended in December 2021).

Application for the Award should be made by e-mail to <u>eatlp@ibfd.org</u>.

Adolfo Martín Jiménez Chairman of the EATLP Executive board Daniel Gutmann Chairman of the EATLP Academic Committee